top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureismelihenriquez

Greyhound Across The Country To Pursue Acting

I get asked a lot about moving to Los Angeles to become an actress, whether it be from people trying to make the move, wanting to pursue acting themselves, or people already living here trying to compare their story to mine.


So if you've never heard mine here it is.


I moved when I was 18 about 6 months after I graduated high school. I was working two jobs, customer service/sales at Best Buy and as a waitress at my first job - a small ... very small Mexican restaurant, close to the high school I was attending at the time in Bridgeport, CT. The original plan was to move 2 months after graduation but I wasn't ready and my anxiety got the best of me. So I pushed it a few months and drove into Los Angeles on January 2, 2015.


Yes. I drove into Los Angeles.


Well technically I didn't drive... cause technically I took a Greyhound Bus from Connecticut to Los Angeles...


BIG MISTAKE ON MY PART.


But lets take it back a little bit so I can try and teach you something.


So main reason I pushed back my trip was because I was trying to save more money. Originally I had $300 saved for the initial trip and as the date got closer I knew I was going to need to save more so I called the school I was going to attend and changed my enrollment date.


I don't know where the money I made in the next 5 months went because I only saved $750 by January and that's what I moved to LA with.


So.


Lesson number one - BE SMART ABOUT YOUR MONEY FROM THE START!


Doesn't matter how young or old and inexperienced you are - learn about money management and practice self discipline there are a lot of things you can do without - that especially when you're young and start to make a little money from your little job you want to spend and feel independent and shit!


Lesson number two but really part of number one - TAKE ADVANTAGE OF LIVING WITH YOUR PARENTS!


You have no idea how much money you can save living with your parents if you don't spend on dumb shit. At the time - before I moved - the only expense I had was my cell phone bill... (quick story on that - so when I started earning my own money and paying for my own cell phone bill I was excited cause my mom couldn't take my phone away from me anymore.... or so I thought. She still did it whenever I was up late on the phone or over pettiness. 😐) anyway back to what I was saying so all I was really responsible for was my phone bill but my dumb ass decided to go to the mall, and to the movies, and buy clothes I didn't need and of course food... to this day I spend the most on food - I don't even buy clothes like that.


Moral of the story is save your money cause LA is expensive and although I moved into a dorm where I didn't have to pay rent (it was covered with my financial aid) now I didn't just need to pay a phone bill but I also had to buy groceries, and toiletries and all the little shit you always have and never have to worry about buying when you live with your parents. And $700 goes bye-bye real quick.


Of course I got a job 2 weeks after I moved but my point is life is expensive and money isn't everything BUT in order to survive you need it.


My first year in LA I didn't pay rent and was making about $450 every two weeks which was enough for me to sustain myself, but if you're moving to LA and need to find a place to stay and you need to pay rent and bills, you need money - A LOT OF IT! LA is expensive I will say it again and again. LOS ANGELES CALIFORNIA IS EXPENSIVE.


Right now August 2019 a one bedroom apartment is minimum $1500 and living with roommates minimum is $700 (you can definitely find something cheaper but it's very very rare and most likely bad location).


So with that being said...


Lesson number three HAVE A PLAN AND DO A LOT A LOT OF RESEARCH BEFORE YOU MOVE!


Research the different areas to live, cost of living, traveling, jobs, etc. Have a plan, calculate numbers, have a back-up plan in case something doesn't go as planned literally think of it as a business start-up that you do not - cannot allow to burn to the ground.


Lesson number three - learn to have thick skin and not get discouraged easily. You need to maintain the ability to think quick on your feet and be alert and willing to learn as you go.


With all that in mind - make the move don't doubt yourself and don't think yourself out of making a life changing decision because you're scared - do it.


&& If you want more details on my Greyhound cross country experience check out the next mini blog!✌❤








21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page