top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureismelihenriquez

4 DAYS ON A GREYHOUND BUS

You're probably here cause of my previous blog - so lets get right into it.


No I couldn't shower for 4 days... We stopped at stations for bathroom and food breaks and I had to clean myself with wet wipes.


Lesson 1 - Don't take a Greyhound bus across the country.


So let me explain my stupid decision - I'd never been to the west coast of the United States and at the time I thought it'd be cool to make a road trip out of it - P.S. I did not know how to drive at the time so greyhound was the closest thing to a "road trip".


By the way it definitely wasn't a road trip.


So lets rewind, I got on the bus at a station in Bridgeport, CT said bye to my family & boyfriend at the time - I was all excited to be leaving.


2 hours later the bus is leaving a station in New York and it finally hit me I'm leaving away from the place and people I know on my own - anxiety kicked in a little but I pushed it away and took a deep breath. Fast forward to day two - people on the bus stink, I probably stunk, and the bus is taking an extra long route my butt hurts from sitting, my legs are cramping from not being able to stretch and I'm annoyed - did I mention I was on my period.


So now i'm at a point where I want to get off the bus and go to the airport take a flight back home.


So anyway, listen to this...


I left December 28, I was supposed to get to Los Angeles January 1, but instead I spent an extra day in Amarillo, Texas in a cold Greyhound bus, on New Years night, getting calls from home wishing me a happy new years.... while I was stuck on a bus station in AMARILLO TEXAS! 🤬


Turns out it had snowed a little in New Mexico and they had closed down the roads.... for less than 1 inch of snow... so it's needless say Greyhound "roadtrips" are NOT it. Take a plane - its a few hours - you can take a road trip any other time. (unless you're driving with someone, than maybe try it.)


SO yeah that was a mistake my 18 year old self made. 🤦‍♀️


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page